Borderlands Biophony

Borderlands Biophony
Included in this purchase:

Work Details

Year: 2021

Instrumentation: Flute, clarinet, piano, violin, cello, live interactive audio.

Duration: 24 min.

Difficulty: Medium - Advanced

Contents note: 1. Forest Lyre-- 2. Leapfrog --3. Rainforest Bath at Witches Falls -- 4. Sooty Owl Nightcap -- 5. Keel Row. The movements are modular - one or many may be performed in any order.

Dedication note: For Syd Curtis (1928-2015), who enlivened and encultured Australian birdsong into our collective musical consciousness; and to Mike Fitzgerald and Kimbal Curtis, whose generosity enabled the presence of nature to sound through this piece.

Commission note: Commissioned by Syzygy Ensemble.

The composer notes the following styles, genres, influences, etc. associated with this work:
Australian birdsong; climate change; Australian soundscape; Australian fauna; place-making; Olivier Messiaen; Syd Curtis; lyrebirds NSW; Queensland; interactive audience participation through phone playback of soundscape

$ 57.27 AUD